12 C
Torrevieja, ES
Monday, March 27, 2017

While the Costa Blanca refers to the coastline from Denia to Alicante, Torrevieja and Torre Horadada, is meant by Vega Baja del Segura administrative district of the Spanish province of Alicante in the Valencia region. The Vega Baja del Segura includes 27 municipalities, located in the extreme south of the province of Alicante and is adjacent to the region of Murcia, whose capital is Orihuela.

After the town of Orihuela inland, Torrevieja is the main town of this district on the coast. The river Segura flows through this region.

Largest cities and towns are: Guardamar del Segura, San Fulgencio, Dolores, Catral, San Isidro, Albatera, Almordi, Rojales, Formentera del Segura, Benijófar, Los Montesinos, Torrevieja, Cox, Granja de Rocamora, Redovan, Jacarilla, Daya, Rafal, San Miguel de Salinas, Orihuela, Bigastro and Pilar de la Horadada.

The Vega Baja is prone to earthquakes, as European and African tectonic plates meet here. In 1829 an earthquake destroyed more than 2,000 buildings, which today due to the modern and earthquake-proof construction can no longer happen.

City trips

Orihuela Costa

Los Montesinos

San Miguel de Salinas

La Zenia

La Mata

Santa Pola

Top Beiträge

All Sights

Dating Costa Blanca Contacts

Sehenswürdigkeiten Ausflüge

Ostdeich Promenade

Torre del Moro

Airport Murcia San Javier

Anna – historic small town

Museo del Mar y de la Sal

Church la Inmaculada Concepcion



%d bloggers like this: